Residency in the state of Florida encompasses several topics and issues. If you intend to make Florida your new place of residence, you will need to take a few legal steps that prove your commitment to living in the state. The requirements for Florida residency status is defined by Florida state statute Section 1009.21. Generally a person is considered a Florida resident for the purpose of paying taxes, voting or other legal purposes after residing in the state for a designated length of time. However, please note that the state statute requires additional requirements for a student to be classified as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. Living in or attending school in Florida will not, in itself, establish legal residence for tuition purposes. File a Declaration of Domicile through the clerk of the circuit court. Your signature on this document confirms that you now reside in Florida, and that the state is your permanent residence. Get a new Florida driver's license. If you already have a license from another state, you will not have to take the written or driving tests to get a Florida license. Bring your out-of-state license to your local Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Take an identify document with you, such as the original or certified copy of your birth certificate. It's also okay to bring a US Passport, or a Certificate of Naturalization. Provide proof of your Social Security number. This could be your Social Security card, a W-2 or pay stub. Offer 2 documents that prove your Florida address. A mortgage deed, Florida car registration or recent utility bills are the most commonly accepted, but anything with your new address should suffice. If the name on your identity document is different from your driver license, you'll also need bring something to show why your name was changed, like a marriage license or court order. The Division of Driver Licenses, Bureau of Field Operations, has driver license offices located throughout the state. Appointments are provided at all full service offices. Check our Driver License Office Directory for addresses, telephone numbers, days and operating hours. Appointments are recommended. Transfer car title and get a registration in Florida. You have 10 days after establishing Florida residency status to complete this task. Get car insurance in Florida. Submit proof of your policy to the county tax collector. Show the original title to the county tax collector.Bring the car you want to register to your county tax collector's office, so they can check out the VIN. Pay the fees. It costs around $400 to title and register your car for the first time in Florida. You will also have to pay the typical registration fees, which vary depending the age, type, and weight of your vehicle. Register to vote. It is convenient to do this while getting your Florida driver's license, but you can also register with the Supervisor of Election. You must wait until the voter registration books open, as they close 30 days prior to an election and reopen after an election.

 
 
 

Port Orange Real Estate .com is a Publication and Trademark of Media Insights .com
©1997-2017 All Rights Reserved